Canyons District's COVID-19 Action Plan, Updates | Read More >

What is the School Community Council?

“The School Community Council (SCC) is comprised of parents, school employees, and the principal.  The Council has statutory responsibilities to develop the School Improvement and LAND Trust plans which are focused on increasing student achievement in our school and may include provisions for professional development.  Throughout the school year, the SCC reviews school data, identifies academic needs, sets measurable goals, establishes action steps to reach those goals, and evaluates success of the plans.  This gives parents and school employees opportunities to be involved in the decision making process at the local school level.

The SCC is responsible for determining how the LAND Trust funds are used in our school.  When Utah was granted Statehood, parcels of land were placed in a perpetual Trust with the children of Utah as beneficiaries.  Revenues from these lands go into the Permanent State School Fund. The dividends and interest of that fund are distributed annually to each public school in Utah.  Our school received $74,465 during the 2018-2019 school year. We will be receiving $87,844 for the current 2019-20 school year.

Additionally the SCC serves as an advisory council to the school and district administration as well as the Canyons District Board of Education. In this role, an SCC fosters communication between the school and the community on local school issues.  The School Community Council is a vital partner in fulfilling the mission of Canyons School District: Every student will graduate college-and-career ready.”

2019-2020 Council Members

Please feel free to contact any member of the council with items you would like to have presented at the next meeting.  

Jenny Baer – Chair
(Term Ends 10/1/20)

Chance Morgan – Co-Chair, Parent Rep
(Term Ends 10/1/21)

Megan Gutierrez – Scribe/Parent Rep
(Term Ends 10/1/21)

Clara Lifferth – Parent Rep
(Term Ends 10/1/21)

Matt Brahana – Parent Rep
(Term Ends 10/1/21)

Marianne Yule – Principal
(Term On-going)

Paige Mantle – School Rep
(Term Ends 10/1/21)

Cindy Wagstaff – School Rep
(Term On-going)

2019-2020 Meeting Schedule

All meetings will be held at Willow Springs  in the conference room at 10:00 a.m.

September 11, 2019

October 16, 2019

November 20, 2019


February 19, 2020

March 18, 2020

April 17, 2020


2019-2020 Minutes Agendas & Reports

Translate »